Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials for Students: Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community,…
Visual Studio Dev Essentials
What you get
- Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community, Visual Studio Community for Mac, Visual Studio Code, CODE Magazine, Pluralsight*, Syncfusion Succinctly Series*, Syncfusion Essential Studio UI Edition*
- Azure free account (includes 1 year of free services and a $200 credit for the first month), Azure DevOps, Power Apps Community Plan
- SQL Server Developer Edition, Power BI, Office Online. (* = benefits offered exclusively through Dev Essentials)
From the official page: “Visual Studio Dev Essentials — Free tools, cloud services, and training using the latest Visual Studio. / Azure Free Account – includes 1 year of free services and $200 credit for the 1st month.”
How to claim
Step-by-step instructions are not published on the official page — start from the link on the right and follow the signup flow.
Eligibility
The official page sets no student-specific requirements and is open to all developers (the biggest gap vs. the Pack description: this is not a student-exclusive benefit).
Expiry & renewal rules
The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community, Visual Studio Community for Mac, Visual Studio Code, CODE Magazine, Pluralsight*,… Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.
What's the catch with Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials's student program?
The honest caveats: The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.