GitHub for Students: Offers from roughly 70+ partners (71 visible on the page, more including…
Student Developer Pack via GitHub Student Developer Pack
What you get
- Offers from roughly 70+ partners (71 visible on the page, more including collapsed items)
- the official page does not state a total count and makes no '$200k+' total-value claim (the figure circulating in research comes from third-party articles).
From the official page: “real world tools can be cost-prohibitive. That's why we created the GitHub Student Developer Pack with some of our partners and friends.”
How to claim
- Apply at education.github.com
- Get verified
- Redeem partner offers one by one
Eligibility
Student status verification (the page does not list details; verification happens in the GitHub Education application process); individual offers have age limits (Azure standard is 18+, teen version 13-17).
Expiry & renewal rules
No single rule: most offers last 'while you are a student' (they end when your status does); fixed terms are mixed (6 months Educative/GitKraken, 12 months LambdaTest, 2 years Datadog/1Password, 24 months Heroku); only Sentry explicitly states it can renew (1 yr limit, can renew); the page does not state a re-verification cycle for the Pack as a whole.
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is GitHub still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Offers from roughly 70+ partners (71 visible on the page, more including collapsed items) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: No single rule: most offers last 'while you are a student' (they end when your status does); fixed terms are mixed (6 months Educative/GitKraken, 12 months LambdaTest, 2 years Datadog/1Password, 24 months Heroku); only Sentry explicitly states it can renew (1 yr limit, can renew); the page does not state a re-verification cycle for the Pack as a whole.
What's the catch with GitHub's student program?
The honest caveats: No single rule: most offers last 'while you are a student' (they end when your status does); fixed terms are mixed (6 months Educative/GitKraken, 12 months LambdaTest, 2 years Datadog/1Password, 24 months Heroku); only Sentry explicitly states it can renew (1 yr limit, can renew); the page does not state a re-verification cycle for the Pack as a whole.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.