GitHub for Students: Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15…

Codespaces (free for students)

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15 GB storage
  • free for students via the GitHub Student Pack (Pro-level access).

From the official page: “Codespaces is available for free to students as part of the GitHub Student Developer Pack”

How to claim

  1. Open your GitHub account.
  2. Go to a repository.
  3. Create a Codespace.

Eligibility

On by default for personal free accounts; students need Pack verification.

Expiry & renewal rules

Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is GitHub still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15 GB storage Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.

What's the catch with GitHub's student program?

The honest caveats: Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Developer Tools & IDEs

All Developer Tools & IDEs →