CARTO for Students: A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions)
Geospatial platform
What you get
- A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions)
- production use is quote-based (PayG + three annual commitment tiers)
From the official page: “Trials are for evaluation purposes only — production use is not permitted”
How to claim
Step-by-step instructions are not published on the official page — start from the link on the right and follow the signup flow.
Eligibility
Not stated on the official page — confirm during signup.
Expiry & renewal rules
30-day trial
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is CARTO still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the CARTO student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: 30-day trial
What's the catch with CARTO's student program?
The honest caveats: 30-day trial. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.