GitHub for Students: 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public…
GitHub Pages
What you get
- 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public repositories required)
- no bandwidth limit is shown on the page (documented elsewhere).
From the official page: “You get one site per GitHub account and organization, and unlimited project sites.”
How to claim
- Create a public username.github.io repository to publish your site.
Eligibility
A GitHub account.
Expiry & renewal rules
No time limit.
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is GitHub still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public repositories required) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: No time limit.
What's the catch with GitHub's student program?
The honest caveats: No time limit.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.